Look, no dust…….

Pardon about the radio silence but I’ve had my ‘making hat’ on and there hasn’t been much time left to say hello to you all. Hello.

Elisa Bartels designs studioYou’ve all seen photos of my shed where all the grotty tasks (and there are many) of ceramics are performed. Up until a few months ago all the clean work had been done on the dining table and we all know how tiresome it can become having to clean up at the end of the day. Well for me those days are over. I snagged this tiny room as my studio where I can dream up new projects and put together the components of my pieces.

My room is quite bare at the moment but that’s ok. I like the slow and steady accretion of objects, many of which have a story. Take my desk – I dreamed about this very desk and then a few weeks later found it in an antiques store in Black Heath in the Blue Mountains. ‘Sold to the lady with the gaping mouth and the big bug eyes.’

Elisa Bartels Designs studio chairOr this chair which is one of six. It was handmade by my Dad. It was the family trade back in Italy and with his father and brother they would travel from town-to-town, farm-to-farm fixing broken chairs and making new ones. Not only did he make the chairs but he had to make some of the tools needed because he couldn’t find them in Australia. Looks like I have inherited his artisan gene.

Elisa Bartels studio shelvesLastly, I have a place to store my finished products and diaries and other components of my work which I want to keep clean.

I will so enjoy keeping an eye open for a rug and some paintings and am looking at making a giant cork board for either the wall above my desk or the one above the couch. Oh yeah, did I mention the couch. Thanks Gumtree – one perfectly new sofa bed for $50 so that my studio can transform into a guest bedroom when needed and yes, I will tidy up for guests.

PS: I discovered Instagram a while back. I know, late adopter, but am loving taking everyone along on my crazy ride. So if you haven’t already, come over and have a look at @elisabartelsdesigns.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Interiors, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look, no dust…….

  1. chrismjames says:

    How fantastic to have a space where you can work to the last minute and then walk away without having to waste any precious creative time cleaning up. Luxury!

Leave a Reply

