Tassels are so Downton Abbey…..

Ok I’m going to start by outing myself as a Downton Abbey tragic. Just last night I was screaming at the television “What do you mean it’s not on tonight!!!!!” All I could say was thank god ‘Vikings’ was playing otherwise there would have a been a prize winning tantrum.

Ceramic ornament by Elisa Bartels

Ceramic Ornament

I enjoy Downton for so many reasons other than the storyline. Actually, there are only two other reasons – the clothes and the house. I spend the good part of an hour sighing at the beautiful garments the women wear and the grandeur of the manor. Now whilst I would not be pleased to live in a time where women were seen as light-headed ornaments; the ornaments within the house have my blessing.

So I pondered to myself, “How can I bring a slice of Downton into the 21st Century? This line of thought ended up with a small production of ceramic ornaments. They are perfect for draping over a lamp or hanging on the sideboard.

Ceramic ornaments designed by Elisa Bartels

Ceramic ornament on my lamp

The balls have been hand-rolled from coloured clay and some have been glazed to add a little sparkle. They are the modern equivalent of the tassel, a very popular embellishment during various times last century.

Ladies and Gents, I’ve just added them to my store if you fancy adding a piece of modern Downton to your home.

PS: Small confession: I’d love a lady’s maid – someone who would put away my clothes at the end of the day and go to the village to buy me prophylactics for a forbidden tryst. Aah the ‘good old days’.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tassels are so Downton Abbey…..

  1. Sarhn says:

    Ohhhh Vikings is my favourite TV show – one of the few programs I watch. I shouldn’t be surprised you like it too. Birds of a feather!!

    • What is it about that show? The stylised violence (their words not mine), numerous sex scenes or is it the interiors? There’s so much fur draped over every bit of furniture. I dream about sleep on a bed of fur even if it is politically incorrect.

      • Sarhn says:

        For me it is the fascination of the woman’s role in the Viking community. Lagertha’s shield and sword savvy role is apparently based on a real character. Can I be her when I grow up?

Leave a Reply

