Feeding the beast…

Elisa Bartels visits the studio of a metal artist

Ironmonger’s Studio

When you are an artist running a creative business you wear many hats. Some of them exciting – making floating mosaics and blackfired vessels and other onerous but necessary. One of those task is feeding the beast that is social media. This year I included Instagram into my creative life and I am pleasantly surprise by how much I enjoy feeding this little beastie.

What happens when you fire earthenware to a high temperature.

What happens when you fire earthenware to a high temperature.

ceramic tools

Tool of the trade

It’s quick and easy and  I enjoy using my phone to capture certain times of my day to share with you. I never feel alone and love being able to share surprising moments, crazy situations and unexpected beauty.

There is a wonkiness to my images and pardon me if they are not slick but I see Instagram as a means to share my day with you and most times I take an image quickly between jobs and can’t always make them pretty. I want you to feel as if you’re beside as the action is unfolding. Having said that, I have included a few images in this post which I’ve tried valiantly to pose and primp.

Come follow me @elisabartelsdesigns

Elisa Bartels blackfired bowl and plate

Blackfired Bowl and Plate

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

