MYOP

Elisa Bartels ceramics kiln

Promises. Some people make lists to keep them on track. They write down each item on a ‘to do’ list and meticulously tick them off upon completion. I am one of those people right up to the point where I reach a task I realllllllly don’t want to do. Now, I have cleverly put that job close to the bottom of my list so I feel as if I’m on the path and achieving my goals. It feels great putting a line through all my ‘to dones’

Then I reach that one thing I really don’t want ‘to do’ on my ‘to do’.

After much soul searching and mediation I have come to the conclusion that the best (and only) way to beat the petulant toddler that resides within me is to make a promise. Not just a promise to myself by a public promise and what more public a forum can there be but the world wide web. I give you MYOP (Mind Your Own Promise).

I’m invoking MYOP when it comes to my kiln. I bought this kiln a few years ago when I didn’t have a studio. So it sat there and I said to myself ,”When I have a studio I will connect it and use it.” Easy to say a little harder to do. You see good readers I get nervous when it comes to firing. I’d like to believe that I’m quite fearless in many aspects of my art practice but just looking at this kiln gives me the ‘fight or flight’ response.

Today I gave myself a pep talk in the mirror. Don’t snicker, I know there are others who practise this form of tough love. “Wake up to yourself Elisa. It’s time to take charge and show that kiln who’s boss.” I said with gusto.

So folks this is my solemn MYOP to myself and you.

I Elisa Bartels will commence making items to fire in my kiln. The first firing will be done before the middle of the year.

PS: Feel free to keep reminding me of my MYOP. I’m counting on you to give me a pep talk to keep my MYOP

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MYOP

  1. It’s fear that’s stopping you … get moving girl! You’ll love the freedom having a working kiln gives you!

  2. Lisa Wilmot says:

    I look forward to seeing your 100% HOME made work. …goodluck.

  3. Sarhn says:

    Hey Honey, so glad you wrote a post as it prompted me to tell you something. Remember you told me to tell you when our gardening group would be meeting at the ‘Harris’ potters place again? We are going again on Saturday the 21st of March. You are most welcome to come with me if you want. P.S. YOU ARE THE QUEEN OF THE KILN 🙂

Leave a Reply

