Handmade in the Everyday Home

Elisa Bartels Sideboard

Above is a photo of my sideboard containing crockery that I use on a daily basis. Most of it has been handmade by myself (I still have my very first bowl)  or by people I know and admire. Every time I hold a piece I am transported back to a place or I see the face of someone with whom I have made a connection. That piece of pottery is the thread that binds me to those moments in my life. I consider myself lucky to have entered into the world of the handmade and as time passes its importance in my everyday life becomes more ingrained and vital.

Cups and bowls by Elisa Batels, side plates by David Edmonds

Glasses and bowls by Elisa Bartels; side plates by David Edmonds

When friends come for dinner I notice how they are drawn to certain plates or bowls. They are always a conversation starter. There is a natural affinity that we humans have for the handmade. Unlike art which can seem like an intimidating, esoteric club whose membership is difficult to attain; the artisan product has a glorious humbleness, with all it’s imperfections, with which we can all relate and which seems to put people at ease. I know of no factory made item which has the same effect.

Front: Bowls by David Edmonds; behind: Bowls by Elisa Bartels

Front: Bowls by David Edmonds; behind: Bowls by Elisa Bartels

There are still a few factory made cups in my cupboard but they never get a mention; they are never inspected or admired. Slowly, slowly I will replace them all with handmade. I look forward to the coming months when there will be studio Christmas sales and various TAFEs will host their end of year exhibitions and sales. I will go along and see where my sight and touch leads me. There I will find more little beauties to take home for my family and I to use everyday.

Plates by David Edmonds; Orange plate by Trish McNeil.

Plates by David Edmonds; Orange plate by Trish McNeil.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handmade in the Everyday Home

  1. Pingback: Table Talk 2 | elisa bartels designs

Leave a Reply

