Why I do this…..

Today I thought I’d go into the comments section of my humble little blog to moderate and tidy up comments. Whilst I was there I thought I’d check out the spam box and destroy all those nasty little gremlins. However, before I pressed the delete button one caught my eye. Here’s what it said

            Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more 

No! Please no more! I don’t even understand what you said so far let alone wanting more. All this talk about RSS feed, Google PageRank and optimization (yee gawds they’re always talking about optimization) and backlinks got me thinking about why I write this blog.

Let me assure you it’s got nothing to do with optimization and all about telling you, dear reader, a little about myself, my life and how everything I create has been inspired by the everydayness (different to mundane) of my life. All my ceramics and botanically dyed products have a back story; a link to me and the thought, care and pride I put into every piece. Once that object lands in your life it is imbued with all my history and I believe it is this history that elevates the handmade from the mass produced. You will forever have a relationship with me through my work.

I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t turn a light shade of green when I read about other blogs reaching thousands of people but I think that is just me reacting to that very modern illness of comparing oneself to others through social media.

Don’t get me wrong, I be doing whoops of joy to reach thousands of people; but what’s more important is how honoured I am when anyone takes time out of their very busy, modern life to have a peek at my pictures and read my words. There is so much information being flung around out there; that to have anyone reach out, grab my blog, stop and read my musing is very gratifying and humbling. So thank you to one and all of my dear readers for stopping a moment and being interested in me and my creative world.

PS: I really wouldn’t mind know what this spammer was talking about so if anyone can shed a light drop me a line.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Musings, Pen to Paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I do this…..

  1. Magie says:

    This is so true – sorry I can’t help you decipher the jargon. Love your blog the way it is.

Leave a Reply

