There was movement at the Station….

and this little filly is practically shivering with excitement. My apologies to the ghost of Banjo Patterson; but for all you folk who have heard Australian actor, Jack Thompson’s deep, whiskey soaked baritone reciting this poem you will understand why I’m shivering.

2013 is here and I’m determined to make it shine bright. Adventures are afoot with a new shed being built by my beloved (and a wonderful group of friends who chipped in with a day’s hard work). A place for me to think and create my products.

A ceramic commission which I received at the end of last year needs to be started. The size is both scary and exciting and will test all my existing skills and force me to learn new ones.

Finally I’m expanding my empire. As well as PINCH Gallery, the little window gallery I share with @Vicki Grima and @Ashley Fiona at Bronte, I have dived into the word of Etsy. Etsy is an amazing online market place crammed full of handmade products from craftspeople and artisans worldwide.  It was one of the first and has become the largest. Trust me it’s easy to get sucked into the ether when you go browsing on Etsy only to emerge hours later and financially lighter.

For the moment only my botanical scarves and cushions are for sale, but once the shed is up and my kiln running the ‘sky’s the limit’.  To have a little peek go here and tell me what you think, especially of  my new banner.

eb cushion&scarf1

Thank you thank you Irene  for my beautiful new banner. It really brings to life the essence of my business and my philosophy of using time honoured materials to produce contemporary products.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Musings, Natural Dyeing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There was movement at the Station….

  1. chrismjames says:

    Elisa. They are such lovely soft prints on the fabrics you have printed for those cushions. They remind me of autumn. Your etsy banner looks great. You are a clever cookie.

  2. Lisa Wilmot says:

    It’s all looking great. You have crafted those cushions superbly. I want to touch them! Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

