What the….

20120814-161530.jpg

After watching the Olympic men’s marathon of 42km I really couldn’t complain about the piddly 4km I try to do most mornings. So at 7am this morning off I went and it was on the way back that I came across this little beauty. Which meant I had to carry it the rest of the way home. If I had 10 cents for every stare I received I could have booked my dream holiday to Japan and had spending money to boot.

For a while now I’ve been musing on what my next dye pot should contain so I was mighty pleased when these pods showed up. Before they go in the pot I was hoping that one of my dear readers could tell me what tree they come from. I had a glance at the tree but it was pretty nondescript. A wise woman once told me that you should never use a plant you don’t know. If she reads this post I hope that her amazing knowledge of plants will bear fruit (oh come on, surely I’m allowed one pun per post).

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Musings, Natural Dyeing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What the….

  1. Janine Rae says:

    It is a kurrajong – Brachychiton is the scientific genus.

Leave a Reply

