No need to wait any longer – part 1….

In an earlier post I commented that the first part of the year was all about starting projects and I promised that at the completion of each one you lovely folk would be the first to see them.  At the beginning of the year a wonderful woman by the name of Susie had so much confidence and trust in me that she hired me to re-decorate her apartment. Here are some photos of the finished product.

Lounge room looking out onto balcony

Warm and inviting corner of the lounge

Master Bedroom

With most of the kids having left home, I wanted to give Susie a home that was quietly elegant but not too precious. She still has a son at home and all the others are regular visitors.

This job was such a massive learning curve but loads of fun, with a few nail biting moments to keep me on my toes. What have I learnt from this job:

1. Trust your instincts. There were quite a few raised eyebrows when I showed them the colours I had picked but I had a picture of the finished rooms in my head and I stuck with it.

2. Painters don’t like dark colours. I think it’s because it makes their job harder as the surfaces need to be prepared perfectly as any little bump or lump will be visible.

3. Think ahead – plan each part carefully and then keep checking that everyone is running to schedule.

4. If you see something you like buy it straight away as it may not be there when you change your mind. This rule applies to so many areas in life you think I’d know it by now.

5. It’s worth paying a bit extra to get what you want. In the long run the enjoyment you get from your surroundings will outlast the memory of the money spent.

6. Stick to your budget, unless you see something that is irresistible – go to 5.

A big thanks to my wonderful friend Sarhn who did the photography. After I rang to get some photography tips and told her what type of camera I had she said “I’ll just do it”.

 

 

 

 

 

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Interiors and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No need to wait any longer – part 1….

  1. indiana says:

    great job – love the tripod light!

  2. Suzie says:

    Very nice, love the colour scheme – that piece on the coffee table looks like something from your place?

Leave a Reply

