Phantom post…

Not sure what happened to my last post. I did everything I normally do but the computer pixies decided to have some fun and not publish it. Pesky pixies away as I try again!

Those of you in the mud world will understand that there is a fair bit of time spent waiting around at the R&D phase. Those same little mudsters will nod their heads vigorously in agreement when I say that to rush any stage of the R&D phase can result in problems that leave you wringing your hands whilst looking up to the heavens and shouting “Why did I rush it!!!”

So whilst I wait for moulds to dry and bits to be fired I have turned to what is fast becoming another passion – natural dyeing. Not much of a surprise to those of you who have been reading previous posts.  At the moment this vibrant, purple tree called Tibouchina is flowering all over Sydney, Arthur, my next door neighbour, grows a particularly stupendous specimen and it hangs langorously over my fence ripe for the picking.

Pick it I did with the hope that when its leaves were gently immersed in a dye bath they would surrender their colour.  For the first while my expectations seem to be coming true and then right before my eyes the water went from  lavender to a wishy washy, murky purple blah.  Alas, I will never surrender so I went roaming in my garden and pulled some bark off my pine tree. Into the pot it went along with some Chinese tea (yes, Vicki and Ash you were right the tea tasted like a city puddle). Success – the water turned an autumnal brown and the kitchen filled with a woody scent that brought the kids from their bedrooms to see what was in the witches’ brew.

Oh well the dye pot, like life, doesn’t always turn out as expected.

 

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Natural Dyeing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Phantom post…

  1. india says:

    blue and purple dyes often don’t like heat….try working them cool.

Leave a Reply

