Psst

its me.

Where has the time gone? It feels like only yesterday that I was clicking away at my keyboard letting you know the latest happenings.  Since then I have been on a much awaited family holiday on the south coast. Swimming, eating seafood, laughing, some arguments but no thinking about ironing, school uniforms or timetables – indelible bliss..

Back in the real world I’ve hit the ground running.  Monday is D Day for the lovely Susie and I as we take possession (no exorcism required) of her apartment and get started on creating her dream home.  You may remember a previous post which featured the scrumptious stone plaque adorned with birds and flowers. Well, it’s going to be put in the courtyard and we can’t wait.  Stay tuned for photos of Susie’s finished (quietly elegant) abode.

Mud wise, I’m back in the studio and beavering away on 2 major projects which will be my focus for the year.  One sculptural and the other functional; have to keep both side of my brain balanced, otherwise I start leaning and eventually fall over.

Those of you who know me, know I’m a maker at heart and that mud is but one of my creative outlets.  So when I can’t be in the studio or am waiting for things to dry or fire I can be found with fingers in other pies.  One of those pies is natural dying. I’ve had a pot of old Coreopsis dye sitting around since before Christmas turning a dark autumnal gold . Today being rainy and with me not being able to get into the garden (weeding never ends) I decided to put that pot onto the fire and get to dyeing.  Can’t wait to pull these beauties.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Musings, Natural Dyeing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Psst

  1. india says:

    ha! witchcraft 101. enjoy.

Leave a Reply

