Soldier spoons

Mixed media spoons 2011

Here are my 2011 solider spoons all lined up ready to stir different 2012 pots.  Yes, I am disgracefully blundering with a metaphor but lets move on.  The new year has started with all the promise of an empty page waiting to be filled.  I have spent the last few months waiting for the previous year to finish whilst contemplating the next. Speaking with friends it would seem that I have not been the only one indulging in this activity.

2012 what will it bring? I know that for the Chinese it will be the year of the Dragon and if I think of a dragon the qualities that spring to mind are fearlesness, strength, ferocity, power  and a majestic presence. So in my own way I will find the courage and strength to pursue the creative path I have choosen; I will be fierce in my determination to forge ahead; and I will seek to sit in the quiet space between thought and action which allows my soul and mind to wander and create.

In all the articles I have read about new years resolutions the authors say that to succeed you must be specific or else abandon all hope. I prefer to think that cultivating these qualities will take me through not only this year but many more to come.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

