A little more to whet the appetite…

Stoneware cups 2011

Stoneware cups 2011

These cups are fantastic for keeping drinks cool.  The Mister and I use them for wine and the kids their juice.  They are a lovely weight and very tactile.

Lucie buttons

These are my personal favourite and make me smile everytime they trickle through my fingers.  I wanted my market day to be fun and have an air of frivolity and baby, nothing says frivolous like buttons.  Yes, I know we all need them to avoid embarrassment in public however, not all buttons are created equal.  Mostly buttons seemed to have been relegated to the category of utility (quite a drab word) and I wanted to reach in, pull them out and make them fun again.

I called them Lucie after a legend of the ceramic/art world.  Lucie Rie was a diminutive Austrian woman who managed to escape Nazi Germany to settle in the UK.  Her wheelthrown pots are achingly beautiful and excruciatingly thin and translucent.  She’s my wheel heroine.  My friend told me that to survive during and after the war she made ceramic buttons and jewellery.  This is my humble tribute to her.

This is my last post before the market.  I’m off to gather wrapping paper, price pots (eeek) and generally organise my stand.  Hope to see you all there.

 

 

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

