The Japanese Say…

The Japanese have many deep, existential thoughts on just about everything.  For ceramics they say that you can only throw the pot that is in you.  That’s great if you know pot is in you.  Unfortunately, I have shown over the past few years that I have no idea what pot is in me or even if there is a pot in me.  But I’m not willing to give up that easily.

This idea came to me as I was diligently working away a project where I threw multiples which were all the same shape, same size, same diameter and so on.  This nagging, pesky thought of ‘the pot within’ niggled away at my mind until I gave in and quit what I was doing to concentrate on this.  Not sure what those prosaic Japanese would have to say about quitting, but in my defence it just wouldn’t live me alone and I am being very diligent with the process.

This is a very early piece and a bit of a test run.  There are more in the kiln and hopefully even more inside me waiting to come out.

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Japanese Say…

  1. Hyacinth says:

    Ooh! I LOVE this!!!

Leave a comment