Let’s reminisce

I enjoy looking back at past work, especially when my current work is still being developed.  It reminds me that technical problems do get solved and that the a little seed of an idea can grow into a finished work.  Of course, it’s never quite that way you imaged it but that’s what happens when you stop thinking and start making. This one is called “Refuse the Refuse”, 2008.  I had to do a body of work in my second year of University which was based on a figurative narrative.  I can’t quite remember how I came to it, but I was looking at images of people living in third world countries who not only collect rubbish but live amongst it.  This is what I wrote:

“My work on the human figure is based on the detrimental effects of the increasingly rapid rate at which we produce garbage.  The world is being divided into two categories of people: those who consume rapaciously and those who must live with the conseuqences of this rampant consumerism.”

What really struck me was the elegance of their poses as they poked around on these great mounds of rubbish.  Hopefully that’s been conveyed in the finished pieces.

 

About Elisa Bartels

A ceramic artist/designer and sporadic botanical dyer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

