When opportunity knocks…..

A while back my step daughter, Tashie, asked “How did you get to have such an interesting life?”. It was a lovely compliment from one so young and it came on the back of her patiently listening to me tell yet another story from the time I spent working in a cooking school in Umbria, Italy.

Elisa Bartels, 2014, smoke fired porcelain bowl with camellia

Elisa Bartels, 2014, smoke fired porcelain bowl with camellia

I had to take a little time to go back through my life, thinking about all my adventures and how they had come about.  I came to a very simple conclusion. I have said Yes more than no.

Elisa Bartels, 2014, smoke fired porcelain vase filled with natives and exotics

Elisa Bartels, 2014, smoke fired porcelain vase filled with natives and exotics.

I have said Yes to things I had never done before. I have said Yes to people I barely knew who asked for my help. I have said Yes even when my whole mind was wracked by fear.

Elisa Bartels, 2014, smoke fired ceramic pot with succulent.

Elisa Bartels, 2014, smoke fired ceramic pot with succulent.

So I said to Tashie, “Be brave and say Yes as often as you can. Say Yes with confidence and a smile even if your brain is screaming “What the hell are you doing? Shut up!!!” Just keep saying Yes, Yes,Yes and adventures will come. Then if you’re lucky there will come a time when you will be telling a young girl all about your adventures and she will ask, “How did you get to have such an interesting life.””.

PS: I will never say yes to jumping out of a plane which is in perfect working order. Don’t bother asking.

 

 

 

About Elisa Bartels Ceramics

A ceramic artist/designer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When opportunity knocks…..

  1. Lisa Wilmot says:

    Poetic and inspirational. Thanks for the pep up :)

  2. Lisa Wilmot says:

    I love your smoke fired porcelain bowl. Price?

Leave a Reply

