When all is said and done……

Elisa Bartels Ceramic Designs floating mosaic

Elisa Bartels; North Curl Curl Pool; 2013; H:1800cm, W: 1800cm.

I generally find that the saying is always easier than the doing. Folks who know me can attest that I talk ‘a good game’. That ‘blagging’ gave me my very first commission. I persuaded a lovely person to have faith in my vision and no sooner had she commissioned me to produce my first ever ‘floating mosaic’ I experienced a rush of elation; quickly, actually simultaneously, followed by a knee buckling fear. That fear had a name and it’s name was doing.

Elisa Bartels ceramic designs, floating mosaic

I had to stop saying and jump into the crazy, unpredictable world of doing. That doing has taken 16 months but the done, in my humble opinion, is a sight to behold. After all the tears, tearing of hair, doing and re-doing, feeling deflated and defeated, then rising from the sub-micron particles of a big, fat mound of clay dust and starting again – it is DONE.

Readers, first and long time, I present to you my floating mosaic. It is an abstract interpretation of an aerial view of my client’s favourite sea pool. When she saw it installed we hugged, looked at it together and hugged again. Don’t know how many future clients I will be hugging, but being the first it was very special.

Elisa Bartels ceramic floating mosaic

So now to the Academy Awards part of this post. I would like to thank my client, Susie for having faith in my vision and her perpetual patience in the length of time it took to complete. To my darling Eymard for picking me up from that dusty mound and giving me a much needed stern talking to followed by a kiss; for his ingenuity in mounting my floating mosaic and doggard faith in me. To all my friends and Chris James at Northern Beaches Ceramics who offered valuable advice and solace. To Phil West from Sheerline who made the frame and put up with all my changes and to Page Wholesale Jewellery Supplies for helping me pick the right rings for the job.

Elisa Bartels ceramic design, floating mosaic

Elisa Bartels; 2013; North Curl Curl Pool

I Came, I Said, I Did..

 

 

About Elisa Bartels Ceramics

A ceramic artist/designer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Interiors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When all is said and done……

  1. Maggie P says:

    Elisa … Stunning congrats on a fantastic piece – I love it. Maggie

  2. Sarhn says:

    Well done!!! You have created something very special. Loved reading about your journey. :)

  3. Shantala says:

    Wow! this is amazing and unique work…Congratulations!

  4. Wow – this is such a brilliant idea! Absolutely love how it gives such a modernized feel to the traditional mosaic. Well worth the effort you put in, LOVE it!!

Leave a Reply

