Better late than…

2014 - it's all about the tiles.

2014 – it’s all about the tiles.

ignoring this new year and waiting till 2015.

Happy new year and apologies for my lack of Christmas cheer. My fingers have been busy putting tiles together. “Still!” I hear you cry. “Yes, Still.”, but I’m nearly there. 2013 was a year of perseverance and patience. Christmas really snuck up on me and it was all I could do to keep my head above the rising tide of commitments.

Here I find myself in 2014 having nearly finished one of my biggest creative career challenges and looking forward to seeing where it will take me. I swore off making new year resolutions a while back. Grand declarations have only landed me into hot water and coupled with ‘egg on my face’ it can all get a bit messy.

So instead of resolutions, I’m going to give myself some new year challenges. I will be challenging myself to consistently promote my work throughout the year;┬áto ‘cold call’ stockists and even ‘cold enter’ which is when you just walk into a prospective stockist with samples and a prayer. I will be challenging myself to write more press releases and approach much loved blogs – Lucy from The Design Files I hope you’re reading this.

Challenges always sound so much more adventurous and fun than resolutions, most of which tend to centre around deprivation and self admonishment. Join me gentle reader in ditching the resolution and embracing the challenge.

Happy 2014.

PS: Apologies for the blue tinged photo. I have to spend some time discovering how my camera actually works. It’s a Canon EOS60D and I can’t seem to get a crisp white background. All and any advice welcome.

About Elisa Bartels Ceramics

A ceramic artist/designer chatting and photographing the trials, tribulations and celebrations of being an artist who doesn't want to starve.
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better late than…

  1. Lisa Wilmot says:

    I love your tiles. They are going to be great time wasters errrr I mean meditative viewing candy when all assembled. The second tile down on the 1 is fab. Reminds me of an island at sea. Good luck with cold calling! A woman with such a gift of the gab will perfect it in no time. Happy 2014.

Leave a Reply

